Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
Glitch
Cover of Glitch
Glitch
Borrow Borrow
From the critically acclaimed author of Float comes a new whirlwind adventure about a pair of kids who must break all the rules of time travel, perfect for fans of Gordon Korman and John David...
From the critically acclaimed author of Float comes a new whirlwind adventure about a pair of kids who must break all the rules of time travel, perfect for fans of Gordon Korman and John David...
Available Formats-
  • OverDrive Listen
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • From the critically acclaimed author of Float comes a new whirlwind adventure about a pair of kids who must break all the rules of time travel, perfect for fans of Gordon Korman and John David Anderson.

    Regan Fitz and Elliot Mason have been enemies since they started training to become Glitchers—people who travel through time to preserve important historical events. But everything changes when they find a letter from Regan's future self, warning them about an impending disaster that threatens them and everyone they know.

    Will they be able to set aside their past in order to save the future?

About the Author-

  • Laura Martin is a mom by day and a middle grade author by night, although in her heart she will always be a seventh-grade language arts teacher. After spending six years teaching the fine art of dream chasing as a teacher, she is enjoying every minute of this lifelong dream of being an author. She lives in the Indianapolis area with her family. You can connect with her on Instagram @LauraMartinBooks or at www.lauramartinbooks.com.

Reviews-

  • Kirkus

    April 1, 2020
    Time-traveling archenemies must work together to save their school. In a world where some people are born with a gene that allows them to slide in and out of time--to Glitch--children with that DNA are educated at a special school run by the government. Interfering with the past is against the law, and anyone who travels back in time to manipulate history is labeled a Butterfly and arrested. Glitchers are trained to stop Butterflies, and Regan Fitz, whose mom is commander in chief of the U.S. branch of Glitch Academy, has great intuition when it comes to spotting people intent on altering the timeline. She is, however, at the bottom of her class because school is a struggle. Her nemesis is Elliot Mason, who is at the top of the class, but he lacks the gut instincts needed to be an excellent Glitcher. Character development takes a back seat to premise and plot here. Regan and Elliot fight constantly and are in the middle of an epic blowup when a Cocoon--an object planted by a Butterfly to effect a change--in Regan's handwriting appears. The pair must work together to figure out its clues and succeed in their mission, all while avoiding detection and being arrested as Butterflies. The final time-travel sequences are many and dizzying, but the excellent pacing of the race to save the day overshadows this mechanics issue. Elliot appears black and Regan is white. A solid choice for readers who like history with their mystery. (Science fiction. 8-12)

    COPYRIGHT(2020) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • Booklist

    April 1, 2020
    Grades 5-8 In a future where time traveling is very real, the privilege is reserved for individuals born with a Glitch gene, who must also pass extensive training and testing at the exclusive Academy. When Regan, the Commander's daughter, and Elliot, an Academy urchin with no opportunity outside of his servitude, encounter a Cocoon, a contraband time-travel letter sent from the future to warn them, they must overcome their feud in order to salvage everything?and everyone?they treasure. Martin expertly weaves the story through both Regan's and Elliot's perspectives, capturing their innermost emotions, especially their motivations and fears, as together they overcome frightening simulators and actual time travel. From the Boston Tea Party to Pearl Harbor, their history-based missions and inevitable friendship?or, at least, cooperation?will appeal to fans of action-packed dystopian stories like the Hunger Games trilogy or Ransom Riggs' Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children series. This is the grown-up version of the beloved Magic Tree House chapter books, and it doesn't disappoint in honoring that legacy.(Reprinted with permission of Booklist, copyright 2020, American Library Association.)

  • Publisher's Weekly

    June 1, 2020
    In this buddy time travel tale by Martin (Hoax for Hire), Cadets Regan Fitz and Elliot Mason are rivals at Glitch Academy; they’re training to use their rare genetic ability to travel through time and prevent “Butterflies” (so named for the butterfly effect) from altering U.S. history. Regan, 12, daughter of the Academy commander, is a mediocre student with solid intuition. Her classmate and social nemesis, Elliot, is at the top of their class but lacking in Regan’s instincts. After they discover a letter sent from a future Regan to their current selves, they are forced to collaborate in a secret new program that trains Glitchers to work in pairs. A threat by Butterfly organization Mayhem against the Academy means that Regan and Elliot may have to do the forbidden: travel to the past to change the future. By using historical moments, such as the Triangle Shirtwaist Factory fire, for the missions, Martin imparts a bit of learning in an enjoyable fashion, while the protagonists’ sparring morphs gradually and believably into a firm friendship. There is much here to please middle grade readers, whether they enjoy historical fiction, time travel, or tales of camaraderie. Ages 8–12.

  • School Library Journal

    Starred review from June 1, 2020

    Gr 4-6-Regan and Elliot have been trained since birth to be Glitchers-time travelers who protect the past from Butterflies, the criminals who meddle in history. Regan and Elliot can't stand each other, but when they find a note from a future Regan that instructs them to travel back in time to prevent a disaster, they become not only teammates, but Butterflies themselves. It's refreshing to see a book that so effortlessly combines history and science fiction, maintaining the energy of a sci-fi adventure and the complexity of historical fiction. The fast-paced plot features plucky, well-developed characters, and first-person narration switches between Regan and Elliot, which works due to each character's strong voice. Martin's rules of time travel are simple enough for younger readers to follow, and the historical settings are comprehensive and thorough. Characters' discussions about the events they travel through provide context for readers. VERDICT With its dynamic plot, engaging characters, and sci-fi/historical fiction blend, this title will pull in a huge variety of readers, all of whom will be racing to see how the story ends.-Kristin Brynsvold, Tuckahoe Elem. Sch., Arlington, VA

    Copyright 2020 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    HarperCollins
  • OverDrive Listen
    Release date:
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
    Burn to CD: 
    Permitted
    Transfer to device: 
    Permitted
    Transfer to Apple® device: 
    Permitted
    Public performance: 
    Not permitted
    File-sharing: 
    Not permitted
    Peer-to-peer usage: 
    Not permitted
    All copies of this title, including those transferred to portable devices and other media, must be deleted/destroyed at the end of the lending period.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 99 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
Glitch
Glitch
Laura Martin
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
Glitch
Glitch
Laura Martin
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by RSU #34, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close