Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
Fireblood
Cover of Fireblood
Fireblood
Frostblood Saga, Book 2
Borrow Borrow Borrow
In this action-packed sequel to the New York Times bestselling Frostblood, Ruby must choose between her fiery homeland and the icy king who loves her.Against all odds, Ruby has defeated the villainous...
In this action-packed sequel to the New York Times bestselling Frostblood, Ruby must choose between her fiery homeland and the icy king who loves her.Against all odds, Ruby has defeated the villainous...
Available Formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • In this action-packed sequel to the New York Times bestselling Frostblood, Ruby must choose between her fiery homeland and the icy king who loves her.


    Against all odds, Ruby has defeated the villainous Frost King and melted his powerful throne. But the bloodthirsty Minax that was trapped inside is now haunting her kingdom and everyone she loves. The answers to its demise may lie to the south in Sudesia, the land of the Firebloods, and a country that holds the secrets to Ruby's powers and past....


    Despite warnings from her beloved Arcus, Ruby accompanies a roguish Fireblood named Kai to Sudesia, where she must master her control of fire in a series of trials to gain the trust of the suspicious Fireblood queen. Only then can she hope to access the knowledge that could defeat the rampaging Minax—which grows closer every moment. But as sparks fly in her moments alone with Kai, how can Ruby decide whom to trust? The fate of both kingdoms is now in her hands.

About the Author-

  • Elly Blake is the author of theNew York Times bestseller Frostblood. After earning a degree in English literature, she held a series of seemingly random occupations, including project manager, customs clerk, graphic designer, reporter for a local business magazine, and library assistant. She lives in Southwestern Ontario with her husband, kids, and a Siberian Husky mix that definitely shows Frostblood tendencies. She invites you to visit her at EllyBlake.com.

Reviews-

  • Kirkus

    June 15, 2017
    Ruby embarks on a quest to learn how to stop the murderous Minax, risking her life and her love.In the wake of the destruction of the throne of Fors, Arcus has become king and Ruby remains in the castle, unsure of their future. Save a few friends, the Frostblood court greets her with disdain; she's a filthy enemy--a Fireblood. She and Brother Thistle pass the time combing the library for clues about stopping the Minax while it roams free, possessing unwitting victims. At a royal ball, pale-skinned Ruby is shocked to meet another Fireblood. She learns the ginger-haired, olive-skinned stranger has come to offer her passage to the homeland of the Firebloods that she's never seen--Sudesia. Not only will she be trained by Fireblood masters, she'll hunt for the book that holds the key to destroying the Minax. Arcus urges her not to trust the stranger, and her departure creates a rift between them. Ruby reckons with more than she bargained for along her quest--uncovering secrets of her past and fighting their implications to become who she chooses to be. Brimming with new adventures, Ruby's story shimmers and expands as she grapples with forces pushing her to obey. A new romantic interest sizzles and evil forces conspire, making for a thrilling romp through an engrossing world. A sucker punch of escalating evil, sizzling romance, and a spitfire coming into her own. (Fantasy. 13-adult)

    COPYRIGHT(2017) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • School Library Journal

    August 1, 2017

    Gr 7 Up-This follow-up to Frostblood picks up shortly after Ruby Otrera, the last remaining Fireblood in Tempesia, defeated the mad Frost King by burning his throne. Ruby is now living in the castle and trying to fit in as a lady of the court. Arcus, now King Arkanus, and Brother Thistle are still some of her only allies. Unfortunately, the Minax that had once possessed King Rasmus is now terrorizing the kingdom of Tempesia. When a mysterious stranger appears at a Frost Court ball, Ruby decides to accompany him to Sudesia. Arcus is against her plan, but Ruby knows that the world will never be safe unless the Minax is destroyed. Ruby and the stranger make the journey south to the land of the Firebloods in hopes of becoming Fireblood Masters and earning the trust of the Fireblood Queen. Once there, Ruby will seek the knowledge needed to destroy the Minax, as well as uncover the mysteries of her own past. Despite the use of some well-known tropes (a brief love triangle), this is a satisfying sequel. The plot is well paced and engaging, and the characters, both old and new, are exactly what readers will expect. VERDICT A solid second installment book. Fans of the series will not be disappointed.-Ariel Birdoff, New York Public Library

    Copyright 2017 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • School Library Journal This series opener is perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard's Red Queen and will delight those who love fantasy, adventure, and romance. A strong addition to any YA fantasy collection.
  • Kirkus Reviews Ruby's a spitfire who faces her challenges with grit.
  • Publishers Weekly This strong debut for Blake succeeds in laying down intriguing framework for the books to come.
  • Morgan Rhodes, New York Times bestselling author of the Fallen Kingdoms Series With a fierce and vibrant world, richly-drawn characters, a steamy romance, and page-turning twists, Frostblood has all the elements of a great fantasy.
  • Eve Silver, author of the Game series Compelling characters, a fascinating world, and an exhilarating story beautifully wrought in this must-read debut.
  • Lori M. Lee, author of Gates of Thread and Stone Fast-paced and brimming with magic and intrigue, Frostblood will keep you frozen in place until the last page and then leave you burning for more.

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 99 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
Fireblood
Fireblood
Frostblood Saga, Book 2
Elly Blake
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
Fireblood
Fireblood
Frostblood Saga, Book 2
Elly Blake
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close